Skip to content

Pumpkin Muffins: An Attempt to Bring in Fall

September 20, 2010

If we’ve ever had a conversation (which I can’t imagine why anyone would commit to reading this blog, had we not had some sort of personal relationship outside my word splatters via wordpress), then you are probably well aware that…I…l-o-v-e…FALL! Period. I think I could survive on less than four weeks of summer a year. I love the opportunity to be outside, but shorts, sweat, and tank tops…those I could do without. Bring on the chill, spices, scarves, boots, leaves, hot cocoa, sweaters, apples…and…pumpkin! Apparently food and clothes are equal partners in my book: I was just as excited to browse Bed Bath and Beyond this weekend as Urban Outfitters and Loft. I know…who would have thought?

Anyway–I love the season of pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger and layered clothing! As I endured more 90 degree weather last week, while finding some comfort in a few Pumpkin Spice Lattes (thanks to Starbucks), I decided I would attempt to bring in fall with some pumpkin baking. Did it work? I think it may have…yesterday, the technical first day of Autumn, on my run, I was cold. Legitimately had goosebumps for about 5 minutes. And I needed a coat at lunch (yes…!). I may even attempt to wear a sweater today!

Did these muffins really have anything to do with it? In Emily’s blog world today, yes, they were the catalyst. Even more exciting I can actually say I created this recipe. While I will continue to tweak and craft it, these were not half bad. But it didn’t start out strong. In my attempt to make a whole grain, oatmeal-y muffin I set out to Whole Foods to find pumpkin. While browsing for it, I grabbed “Pumpkin Pie Mix,” I quickly returned it to the shelf for the real stuff, but when I got home I realized it was all the same. Thus my mini-pumpkin muffin experiment began:

Whole Grain Pumpkin Muffins:

1 Cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour

1 Cup Oats [grind in food processor]

2 1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

1 Egg

1/3 Cup Milk

1/3 Cup Applesauce

1 Can Pumpkin Pie Mix (15oz)

[Some added: Brown Sugar (1/4 cup: tops); Cinnamon (1/24tsp); Ginger (<1/4 tsp)

Filling:

4oz Cream Cheese

1-2Tbs Butter

1 Cup Powdered Sugar

Topping:

2 Tbs Melted Butter

1/2 cup Oats

3 Tbs Brown Sugar

1/2 Tbs Cinnamon

Preheat Oven to 375, with rack in middle of oven.

Line mini-muffin tin with liners, cooking spray, or butter.

Mix ingredients together, and fill each tin 3/4 full.

[The filling was an after thought, when the first round was not up to par in my book. So feel free to dismiss this step–my co-workers still enjoyed them without].

Mix the filling together (making a less, sweet cream cheese frosting). Using frosting decorating bag/tip, insert about 1/3 of the way into the muffin mix and squeeze for a few seconds to fill. You don’t want to see the filling from the top–if this happens either go a bit deeper or fill less.

For the topping melt the butter and mix ingredients together. With the mixed topping, gently press into the top of each muffin.

Bake for 12 minutes and cool.

Eat. Enjoy. And if you’re lucky someone may even mistake these healthy muffins as cupcakes. :)

My review: I’m leaving this for the end, because my co-workers always tease me about apologizing for my baked goods. I much prefer my mom’s pumpkin bread to these minis. They needed to bake a wee bit longer and I think the whole Pumpkin Pie Mix kind of threw me off. I will update this sucker later. For now, attempt to bring in fall with me. My sweaters and boots need to be worn!

From → Baking

One Comment
  1. oh man those look scrumptious. I miss your banana-chocolate “special” muffins. a lot.

Leave a Reply

