Skip to content

Not Quite An Ending

July 24, 2011

Maybe it is time to write again. Honestly, I was feeling as if it may be my time to sign off from the blogger’s world. I like things that have a beginning, middle and end. I always did well in class because I could construct a witty introduction, formulate a strong thesis, strictly support my argument without veering from the bounds I had created. Then it was all neatly wrapped in one single concluding paragraph. Printed off. Turned in. A+. So how do I conclude a blog that really has only had a sort of thesis, and only semi-consistent constructs? I want it to be neatly packaged with a bow on top. But maybe it all goes back to the title I chose to theme my writing: “Living Life As Is.”

Life isn’t packaged well. In fact, rarely are there consistencies. And that is (gulp) OK. In fact, if anyone were ever to have lived a perfectly consistent life we’d have books to model our life after this One. Maybe I desperately yearn to live such a life of perfection and consistency because that is what I was created for. But on my own, I can’t. In fact, on this side of heaven we never will be able to.

I find myself breathing prayers for wisdom. I need wisdom from, Jesus, the One who lived a perfect life, to even begin to deal with a world wrought by sweet joys and deep heartache. I strive and I can’t make sense of it. But maybe that is just the reality of this all. Living life as it really is doesn’t necessarily answer all the questions. Living in reality isn’t necessarily easier either. When we live life as it is, that’s when we see the frayed edges of life. That’s when we wake up and realize that today I’m lonely. But also when we choose to live life as it really is we find hope. Hope that the One who is constant and is eternal, is the Comforter, Counselor, Redeemer and Friend.  And its rather interesting that while He be perfect, His life was wrought with great suffering. Why do I expect to escape it?

With that I’ll end with some hope and wisdom that breathes in life. [Don’t expect this to the the end of my writings though, whether it be via blog or something with a cover].

“It has been well said that faith looks out instead of in, and the whole of life falls into line. The more you know Christ and focus on Him, the more the Spirit will make you like Him. But the more you focus on yourself, the more distracted you will be with the proper path.”

-John MacArthur

“I perceived that there is nothing better for them than to be joyful and to do good as long as they live; also that everyone should eat and drink and take pleasure in all his toil–this is God’s gift to man. I perceived that whatever God does endures forever; nothing can be added to it, nor anything taken from it. God has done it, so that people fear before Him.”

-Ecclesiastes 3:12-15

From → Reflecting

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

